{ New Family Favorite :: Thai Chicken Enchiladas }

Lately I have been wanting to broaden my culinary repertoire and get into some more oriental cuisine. This world of cooking scares me; often ingredients I have no idea how to pronounce and simply just don’t know where to start! But I absolutely love this genre of food, it often is my pick for dinning out I love it so much!

The problem is, I am not the best at just trying a recipe. It’s the same for reading a book for me. I don’t often just pick up a book without it having come with solid reviews from people I know.  I enjoy reading but if I am going to take the time {which is now very limited} to read it better be good. Same goes for cooking, if I am going to spend the money and time on a recipe it better be worth it.

But once in a while I happen upon a recipe and get the motivation to try it…and this one is one of those recipes. I happened upon in on Pinterest, pinned it, and months later in hopes to add a little variety to the meal plan tried it…and we LOVE IT!

Thai Chicken Enchiladas {Recipe originally found here.}

Serves :: 4-6

8 flour tortillas
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts {cooked & shredded}
1 tablespoon canola oil
1/2 sweet onion {chopped}
1/3 cup carrots {shredded}
1/2 cup cabbage {shredded}
4 garlic cloves {minced}
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
4 green onions {sliced}
1/3 cup peanuts {crushed} + more for garnish
1/4 cup fresh cilantro {chopped} + more for garnish
2 1/2 cup coconut milk
1 cup sweet chili sauce


1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat and add canola oil. Throw in onions, cabbage, carrots, garlic and 1/4 teaspoon salt, stirring to mix. Let cook until vegetables are soft, about 6-8 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add in chicken {cooked & shredded}, green onions, peanuts, cilantro, remaining salt and pepper, tossing to coat, and let cook for 1-2 minutes. Add in 3/4 cup coconut milk and 1/3 cup sweet chili sauce, mixing thoroughly to combine. Turn off heat.


3. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with nonstick spray. Whisk together remaining coconut milk and sweet chili sauce. Pour about 1/2 a cup or so on the bottom of the dish. Slightly warm tortillas if desired to make them more pliable, then place a few spoonfuls of the chicken mixture in each, rolling up tightly and placing in the dish. Cover with remaining coconut milk and chili sauce mix. 

* As you can see in the next couple photos, I spoon fill my tortillas in the dish {end result before rolling looks like tacos lined up} and then roll each after all are filled. Great technique to keep the mess more contained!



4. Bake for 20 minutes, then remove and top with additional peanuts and cilantro.

*Note :: sauce is not as thick as traditional enchilada sauce. You may wish to spoon sauce from the bottom of the dish all over the tortillas after removing from the oven or this can be done halfway through cooking too.




* As for the extra Coconut Milk, we enjoy it in our smoothies.

This entry was posted in family, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to { New Family Favorite :: Thai Chicken Enchiladas }

  1. Lindsay H. says:

    I made this and everyone else loved it, but it was too coconutty for me (I hate coconut, yuck!). Do you think I could make it with almond milk?


  2. {sarah} says:

    My first thought is probably no since the coconut flavoring seems to go in thai foods often but really I am not sure. I am no thai connoisseur just happened to like this recipe (and I am not a big coconut fan either). Maybe try it and let me know.

    On Tue, Jul 1, 2014 at 4:22 PM, a.sweet.life wrote:



:: comments ::

